A group is a space on which you share information about a main subject (news related to a place, a profession, a theme, a project).

What's a group?

A group is composed of members and can occasionally welcome guests.

The users that are part of the group are called members of the group.

A group is associated with a picture and is composed of a title, a description and a level of access. It can be administered by one group administrator or more.

There are 2 types of groups (public and private) and 3 levels of access:

  • the open or public group,

  • the private group,

  • the private and secret group.

A user of the platform does not access a public group the same way he would access a private group or a secret group.

The public group

All members of the platform can see the posts shared on those groups but only members can publish in it (if the group administrator has authorized it).

Only members of a group can receive notifications of its activities.

The private group

There are 2 types of private groups:

  • the visible private group: members of the platform can join these groups if they’ve been invited to or if they asked for access (which has been authorized by the group administrator),

  • the secret private group: only members that have been invited to join a secret group can join it. A secret group is visible by its members only.

Are groups available on Essentials, Standard and Premium plans?

Groups are available on all plans. More information here.

Who can create a group?

All members of the platform can create a group if the administrators of the platform have authorized it.

Who can invite a member to join a group?

According to the rights defined by an administrator or the group administrator, all members of a group can invite new members (except for guests) or only group administrators can invite those new members.

Who can delete a group?

Only the group administrator or a platform administrator can delete a group.

Users authorisations in groups

Member authorisations:

Members who have joined a group may:

  • Share a publication, comment and vote (unless managers have restricted these permissions),

  • Create, modify and delete documents in the group drive (unless managers have restricted these permissions)

  • Show/no longer show group content on the News Feed,

  • Leave the group.

Depending on the permissions set by an administrator and/or specifically by the group manager(s), the member can also :

Group administrators authorisations:

The group administrators of a group can:

Good practices

Think about the name of your group: a clear title will encourage users to access its content. You may want to consider setting up a specific format to organize your groups.

For example, you could use the following example:

P for Project or C for Communication :

  • C for Social Networks

  • C - Partnerships

  • C - TV and radio ads

  • C - Redesign of the website.

More information about the launch of a group in this article.

Keywords associated

Member, guest, administrators, group administrator, public group, private group, secret group.

To go further

Did this answer your question?