It's possible to archive a group to hide all its content from the platform users. When archiving a group, you keep the possibility to restore its content on the platform. This is different from deleting a group!

You no longer want a group to appear in the list of groups of your news feed or in the directory of groups on your platform because the objectives it served have been achieved or you simply no longer have any use for it: you can then archive it.

However, only group administrators and administrators have the possibility to archive a group.

An archived group means that:

  • it will no longer be visible to its members,

  • the posts of the group can be found via the search engine,

  • the posts of the group will no longer be visible from the news feed,

  • members of the archived group will no longer be able to link, tag, post or delete comments,

  • the group's chat room will no longer be visible,

  • drive documents related to the group will no longer be accessible,

  • group content can no longer be assigned to group members,

  • members who have already been assigned can still unassign themselves,

  • content can still be marked as favorite or removed from this list by users.

Archiving a group - the group administrator

The group manager has the possibility to archive a group from the group menu. In this case he/she has to:

  • click on the icon in the shape of a cogwheel Settings,

  • click on Archive this group,

  • confirm the archiving of the group by selecting the Archive button to confirm.

Archiving a group - the administrator

An administrator has the same rights as a group administrator to archive a group and can therefore do this from the group settings.

But the administrator can also do it from the Administration, Manage groups section. All he has to do is select the cogwheel icon associated with the group and then select the option Archive group.

Once the action has been confirmed, the image of the group will appear grayed out and the word Archived will be associated with the group title.

The group does not disappear from the Administration area but it is no longer visible from the News Feed or the Groups Directory.

To find your archived groups, select Archived Groups from the drop-down menu at the top left of the Manage Groups section of the Administration.

Restore an Archived Group

It is possible to reopen an archived group from the Administration; only administrators have this right.

To restore a group, select the cogwheel icon and then the Restore Group option.

A restored group means that:

  • it will be visible to its members again,

  • the posts of the group can be found via the search engine,

  • the posts of the group will be visible from the news feed,

  • the members of the restored group will be able to like, tag, post or delete comments,

  • the group's chat room will be visible again,

  • group content will be assignable to group members again,

  • drive documents related to the group will be accessible again,

  • already assigned members will be able to unassign themselves,

  • he contents of the restored group can be marked as favorite or removed from the list by the users.

Who can archive a group?

Only administrators and managers of a group can archive a group.

Can I archive a group on the Essentials, Standard and Premium plans?

It is possible to archive a group on all three plans.

Good to know

Don't hesitate to create groups for a specific project that will bring together a small community around specific documents. This group can always be archived and reopened later if you need to access the documents that were shared in it.

Related keywords

Group, publish, archive, restore, documents, files, comments, feedback, chat, drive.

To go further

Did this answer your question?