The Talkspirit videoconferencing service is evolving to offer you more comfort during your live exchanges. You can now:

  • set your microphone and camera preferences and select a background before joining the videoconference.

  • create side rooms to work in small groups on the topics of your choice,


Set up your entry to the videoconference before joining the meeting.

You can set your preferences before joining the meeting:

  • setting your Microphone preferences,

  • setting your Camera preferences

  • selecting a background

1. Setting your microphone preferences

You can join the videoconference exchanges with the microphone muted.

To do so, click on the Micro icon to turn it off.

You can then reactivate the microphone from the meeting by clicking on the microphone icon.

2. Setting your camera preferences

You can join the videoconference with the camera turned off.

To do so, click on the Camera icon to turn it off.

You can then reactivate the camera from the meeting by clicking on the Camera icon

3. Selecting a background

You can join the videoconference with a customized background.

To do so, click on the Select a background icon.

You can choose between:

  • Predefined backgrounds,

  • The background of your choice.

You can change your background from the meeting by clicking on the 3 dots icon and then Select a background.

4. Set up your Devices, your Profile and the advanced settings

Via the settings button, you can:

  • choose your output devices (Microphone, Camera and audio output)

  • go into the advanced settings with the More tab

NB: it is not possible to customize the entry on the mobile videoconference.

When joining the videoconference, you will enter directly into the meeting.

Creating, Managing and Closing a Side Room

It is possible for participants in a videoconference to join side rooms.

Side rooms allow you to create separate groups within a videoconference.

Participants with a Talkspirit account can:

  • create side rooms,

  • move participants to side rooms,

  • Delete side rooms,

  • Join side rooms.

Guests who do not have an account on the platform can only join or leave side rooms.

To create a side room, click on the Participant button

A window on the right of the videoconference opens to display the list of participants and the annex rooms. Click on Add side room to create a new room.


Sending a participant to an annex room

To move a participant to an annex room, click on the three dots next to the participant's name, then in the Send Attendee to: section click on the annex room of your choice.

Closing a Side Room

To close a side room, click on the three dots at the level of the side room to be closed and click on Close.

NB: closing an annex room automatically redirects the members present in that room to the main room.

Joining or Leaving a Side Room

1. Joining an annex room

To join an annex room, click on the Participant button

Click on the Join button of the Annex room of your choice to join.

You will only be able to chat with people in the same room as you.

2. Leaving an annex room

In order to return to the main room and leave the annex room, click on the button Leave the annex room.

You always have the possibility to :

  • choose the background displayed during the videoconference,

  • share polls in the videoconference chat,

  • share your reactions through emoticons,

  • choose the display speed of the screen sharing.

Find more information in this article


Can we use these options on the Standard and Premium offers?

The options can be used on both Plans Standard and Premium.


Associated keywords

Video conferencing, background, image, emoticon, poll, screen sharing.


To take things up a notch

Did this answer your question?