You have the possibility to find the documents you've deleted from the drive from a Trash view.
Once the document has been deleted and moved to trash, it can:
be permanently deleted.
How to access the trash?
To access the trash, you just have to go to the drive by clicking on the dedicated tab. You can then select the mention Trash to access it.
Delete a document from the drive
You can delete a document from the drive. You have to select the document by clicking on it and then select the trash icon Delete.
A pop up window opens: to confirm the deletion select Delete otherwise click on Cancel.
The document disappears from the drive view and is placed in the trash.
Documents moved to trash are stored there for 30 days. After this period, the documents will be permanently deleted.
NB: only documents can be deleted. Directories cannot be placed in trash. It is not possible to delete several files at one time.
Delete a document permanently
Once placed in the drive, you can delete a document permanently.
Once the document is deleted from the trash, you can't recover it.
To permanently delete a document, first delete it from the drive and place it in trash. Once in the trash, you'll have to select the trash icon Delete.
A pop up window will appear: to confirm deletion select Delete otherwise click on Cancel.
Restore a document
A document that has been deleted from the drive and moved to trash can be restored for 30 days. After this period, the document is permanently deleted and it is no longer possible to restore it.
To restore a document from trash, select the concerned document by clicking on it and then select the Restore option.
The document will then disappear from trash and be placed in its original drive.
NB: if you've marked your document as favorite and then deleted and restored it, it will no longer be displayed as such. You will then have to select the star icon again to find it from a dedicated view.
Find a deleted document
To quickly find a document in the trash, you can use a dedicated search engine.
However, a document in trash cannot be found from the drive search engine.
NB: a document placed in the trash cannot be edited. It will have to be restored to be modified.
Who can delete a file from the drive?
Group administrators define the permissions to create, edit and delete documents in a drive. If all the members of the group are allowed to, they will be able to place the document in the trash, restore it and delete it permanently.
If the group administrator has chosen to limit these permissions to group administrators only, then group members won't be able to create, edit and delete.
How does the feature work on the Essentials, Standard and Premium offers?
It is possible to delete documents from the drive on all 3 plans. However, the file storage capacities differ from one subscription to another. Storage will be taken into account according to the documents in the drive and those in the trash.
For the Essentials plan, file storage is limited to 10 GB. Files from the trash and files from the drive must not exceed this limit.
NB: while the history of the news feed is limited to 30 days for the Essentials offer, it isn't the case for drive files: once created they will be continuously accessible until someone delete them. Then it will be placed in trash for 30 days and permanently deleted.
For the Standard offer, file storage is limited to 500 GB. Files in trash added to files in the drive should not exceed this limit.
For the Premium offer, file storage is limited to 1 TB. Files in trash added to files on the drive must not exceed this limit.
Deletion, delete, files, documents, trash, drive.