From their first connection, new members can join groups that you have pre-defined: default groups.
By default, all users join the General group (which has possibly been renamed in the first steps of your platform's creation).
This feature doesn't apply to guest users, who need to be specifically invited to join each group you wish to give them access to.
Adding and removing default groups
Click the gear icon at the top of the left-hand navigation menu
Click on the General link
Within the Default groups section, add groups by entering the first few letters of their name, or remove them by clicking on the delete icon
Click on Save
The modifications that are made will only apply to new users who join your platform.
The administrator can also define source groupes among default groups. Members cannot leave or unfollow these groups by themselves.
Thus, these groups can be used to post messages (like corporate information) and be sure all the members will read them.
When a new source group is defined, all the members are automatically added to this group. The group administrators can then remove some members if they want to.
The administrator can also define a list of other locked groups.Members cannot leave or unfollow these groups by themselves.
Thus, these groups can be used to post messages for departments of the organisation and be sure all the members will read them.